10th Edition Warhammer 40K and my initial thoughts.

New Leviathan box. Owned by GW.

So the hype is out, the boxes have started to arrive at homes and stores, and I didn’t buy it. Why? Cause the rules are free! I’ve got tons a gray that needs to be built and painted, can’t see adding more to my pile. I think the models look great and may get them in the future, but not now.

I’ve watched a bunch of YouTube videos on how to play, batreps and initial thoughts on the new rules. I like what I see so far, like One Page Rules GW has published all the rules free on its website and have even done a how to play. All the information can be downloaded as pdfs and that’s great, for now. GW has said that codexes will be published in the future and that’s how they get you, by tweaking the game play behind a paywall.

I thought GW was going to do something new and breaking with the rules but it’s the same UGIG system and that’s where I think we as gamers can improve the system. How you might say? By using in smaller games alternating turns like Battletech Alpha Strike. If you’re not familiar with the system the losing player goes first by moving a unit, then the winner moves a unit until both sides finish. Then with the losing player shooting then the winner, casualties from both sides are removed at the end of the turn. In my head I can see players jockeying to outflank and outmaneuver each other in the movement phase then shooting each other. No gotcha moments, no alpha strikes, no sitting there taking a beating and removing models until your turn.

I’m planning on giving this a run at combat patrol level where I see this really working. Don’t know if it would work at Crusade or match play? Probably would with some tweaking. Give it a go and let me know in the comments what you think. Well until next time remember folks they’re your miniatures play with them how you want to!

Author: darkwulf1970

Author and gamer both table top and video. I believe that the miniatures you bought are yours to play with any system you want, bought or homebrewed.

One thought on “10th Edition Warhammer 40K and my initial thoughts.”

  1. I think if anyone can improve on a game and it’s rules is you. I mean you are the mix master of rules that will put any table top vet on edge, because M Night Shyamalan couldn’t see the twist coming. In my opinion someone needs to hire you for game rule development. Just saying.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.